Greg Crick Takes Stellar Win At Eastern Creek Race 1

Posted on Jun 17, 2011

The opening race for round three of the Vodka O Australian GT Championship was a drama-filled affair.

In the qualifying session for Race 1 the top 3 drivers lapped under the original benchmark lap time and were due to receive a ballast penalty as per the categories parity policy, however after consultation post qualifying the benchmark lap time was deemed to be set too high and was subsequently lowered by Australian GT management and event officials (as has been done previously). The result of this amendment meant that the top 3 qualifiers, Kevin Weeks, Greg Crick and David Wall did not break the amended benchmark lap time and they escaped the 50kg penalty.

Just prior to the start of the race a number of competitors expressed their discontent with the amendment of the benchmark time and accordingly an urgent category meeting was called to rectify the situation, thus causing a short delay to the race start.

As a show of good faith, the leading three drivers, Kevin Weeks, Greg Crick and David Wall volunteered to start at the back of the grid to enable the race to get underway without further delay.

This did not stop the three drivers, and they charged through the field to fight for the victory.

A fired-up Crick emerged as the quickest of the trio in his Jeep-supported Dodge Viper GT3. He fought through the pack early and after his pit stop he was battling for the lead.

He fended off his nearest rivals, namely Wall in his Michelin Porsche Cup S, Peter Hackett's Mercedes and Klark Quinn's VIP Petfoods Mosler to take the win.

Crick was happy despite the prerace dramas. "It was fantastic to get a race win so early with this car and with Jeep," Crick said. "They are really enthusiastic to build their brand and a great supporter to have on board. The car was the nicest race car I have driven for a long time and I really have to thank my team."

Wall finished in second with Hackett taking his Mercedes SLS GT3 to a debut podium.

In Race 2, David Wall in his Porsche GT3 Cup S fought early with race 1 winner Greg Crick in the Jeep Dodge Viper GT3, putting on an awesome display of GT racing before a front splitter problem forced Crick to make an unscheduled pit stop. The issue would eventually drop him to seventh.

After three events, Crick holds third place in the championship with 299 points, 15 back from the leader, Klark Quinn (Mosler MT900), and six points away from second place man Mark Eddy (Audi R8 LMS).

Australian GT Results
Championship Points - GT Championship

Car # Driver Car Round 1 Round 2 Round 3 TOTAL
12 Klark Quinn Mosler MT900 114 106 94 314
8 Mark Eddy Audi R8 LMS 103 105 97 305
55 Greg Crick Dodge Viper GT3 103 93 103 299
2 Dean Grant Porsche GT3 997 Cup S 90 107 97 294
22 Ash Samadi Mosler MT900 94 92 44 230
2 Daniel Gaunt Porsche GT3 997 Cup S 48 57 97 202
9 Marc Cini Porsche GT3 997 Cup S 89 50 DNE 139
98 Angelo Lazaris Lotus Exige GT3 46 85 DNS 131
27 Nick O'Halloran Ferrari 430 GT3 43 87 DNS 130
1 David Wall Porsche GT3 997 Cup S DNE DNE 110 110
4 Peter Hackett Lamborghini Gallardo 46 DNS 53 99
7 Tony Quinn Aston Martin DBRS9 48 45 DNS 93
17 Peter Edwards Ferrari 430 GT3 0 90 DNE 90
20 Ian Palmer Dodge Viper GT3 DNE DNE 90 90
9 Craig Baird Porsche GT3 997 Cup S DNE 50 DNE 50
38 Ben Eggleston Aston Martin DBRS9 0 48 DNS 48
5 Kevin Weeks Lamborghini Gallardo 0 DNE 48 48
3 Andrew Taplin Porsche GT3 997 Cup S 45 DNE DNE 45
17 Jason Richards Ferrari 430 GT3 0 44 DNE 44
51 Andrew Macpherson Mosler MT900 0 DNE 44 44
51 Mike Reedy Mosler MT900 DNE DNE 44 44
98 Barton Mawer Lotus Exige GT3 DNE 43 DNE 43
58 Richard Kimber Dodge Viper GT3 DNE DNE 43 43
58 Des Wall Dodge Viper GT3 DNE DNE 43 43
11 Mark Seamons Lamborghini Gallardo DNE 41 DNE 41
27 Allan Simonsen Ferrari 430 GT3 0 DNE DNE 0

Connect with SRT: